Image may contain: 17 people, people smiling, people standing and outdoor

The 2017 Barbirolli International Oboe Competition came to an exciting close on Saturday with the final at the Erin Arts Centre, Port Erin being contested by Rafael Sousa (Portugal), Andreas Oeste (USA) and Ilyes Boufadden-Adloff (France). The day before, these players were joined by Amy Roberts (UK), Kaede Yamamoto (Japan), Fanny Kloevekorn (Germany), Gabriel Pidoux (France) and Vojtech Podrouzek (Czech Republic) in a most impressive semi-final.

The jury comprised George Caird (chair), Jean-Louis Capezzali, Elaine Douvas, Diethelm Jonas and Celia Nicklin.

The competition result was:

1st prize: Ilyes Boufadden-Adloff

2nd prize: Rafael Sousa

3rd prize: Andreas Oeste

The set work was Colin Matthews’ Figures, Suspended and the Faber Prize for its performance went to Fanny Kloevekorn. Other prizes were won by Gabriel Pidoux, Vasily Belyavin (Russia), Alex Hayashi (USA), William Ball (UK), Yu-Syuan Liao (Taiwan), Paula Diaz (Spain) and all semi-finalists.

  • Tags: