The Barbirolli International Oboe Festival and Competition came to a close last Saturday with a thrilling final. From eight semifinalists (Hannah Morgan, Nermis Mieses, Tiago Coimbra, Kyeong Ham, Samuel Bastos, Sergio Sanchez, Esther van der Ploeg and Juri Schmahl), three oboists, Hannah Morgan, Nermis Mieses and Samuel Bastos played the set work, Judith Bingham’s Durer Portrait, a concerto and an oboe quartet. The first prize was won by Hannah Morgan with performances of Mozart’s Oboe Quartet and the Martinu Oboe Concerto. Samuel Bastos won the second prize and Nermis Mieses the third prize. The jury was Neil Black, George Caird, Maurice Bourgue and Han de Vries.

The Oboe Festival also included talks and masterclasses and was supported by Michael Britton and Howarths of London. The Festival and Competition was held at the Port Erin Arts Centre. Thanks to Director John Bethell, Gloria Balakrishna and all the Festival staff.


  • Tags: